This site is privately owned and is neither affiliated with, nor endorsed by, nor operated by a government agency.
Texas Fishing Licenses

In order to catch and sell fish in the state of TX, you must apply for a Texas commercial fishing license, whether it is a saltwater commercial license to fish or a freshwater commercial license to fish. Depending on the type of species of fish or sea creatures you would like to catch, different requirements and rules will also come in to place. If you would like to get commercial fishing license credentials, it is important to keep in mind that the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department makes it mandatory for you to visit one of its law enforcement office locations. You may also choose to stop by the Austin headquarters if it is more convenient for you. Another important item to take note of is that there are varying prices for commercial permits and licenses, both for residents and nonresidents. These fees may be subject to change. In order to learn everything you need to know about commercial fishing in the state of Texas – such as a list of prohibited species to catch, the types of paperwork you must present at the time of your application and any payment you must have ready to submit – continue reading the sections below.


What is the difference between a resident and non-resident commercial fishing license?

Whether you are a commercial fisherman who lives within Texas or outside the state, you may still submit an application for the appropriate license to sell fish and other aquatic species. However, different requirements will apply for each. For example, a resident commercial fishing license is issued to an individual who has lived in the state of Texas for a period of six months or more. On the other hand, a noncommercial fishing license is for those applicants who are visiting the state. Both residents and nonresidents are expected to have their driving license or another form of ID on hand when fishing in TX waters.

How do I obtain a commercial fishing license?

In order to get a commercial fishing license, you must first meet the minimum age requirement of 17. Thereafter, you will need to visit one of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department offices in your county or local neighborhood in order to begin the application process. If you prefer, you may also stop by the TPWD headquarters, which is centered in Austin.  Make sure to bring payment with you, along with an identification document, to ensure the issuance of your license without delay.

How much is a commercial fishing license?

The state of Texas has a number of different fees for commercial fishing licenses, which are based on several factors. However, a general commercial fisherman license for a resident is $26, whereas a commercial fisherman license for a nonresident increases to $189. Texas commercial fishing license costs also vary for a commercial finfish fisherman. If you are interested in obtaining a resident finfish license, the commercial cost is $360. If you are a nonresident, this price is much higher at $1,440. When it comes to a freshwater commercial license, the fee is $132, regardless of whether you reside in the state or not.

How do I replace a commercial fishing license?

To replace Texas commercial fishing license credentials, you must complete this process in person. Locate a TX Parks and Wildlife law enforcement office in your area by visiting the department’s website, where you will find a map of different branches. The TPWD also accepts Texas commercial fishing license duplicate applications at the headquarters office, which is situated in Austin. If you would like to visit the headquarters location, the exact address is as follows: 4200 Smith School Road, Austin, TX 78744.

What is considered a commercial fish in Texas?

There are various different types of fish and other aquatic creatures that can be caught for commercial purposes in Texas. However, depending on the type of fish you intend to catch, you may need a special permit or tag for it. Some of the most common types of sea species that commercial fishermen catch include red drum, sauger, crappie, grouper and more.

Are there any fish that cannot be taken with a commercial fishing license?

The state of Texas does not allow commercial fishermen to take shellfish or oysters in waters that have consumption bans. Certain sharks are also considered forbidden species, such as bigeye sand tiger, Atlantic angel, Caribbean reef, silky, sand tiger and more. Other fish species that may not be sold include sauger, white bass, marlin, crappie, etc. For more information about specific types of prohibited species that you cannot catch with a Texas commercial fishing license, take a look at the Texas Commercial Fishing Guide .

Fishing Frequently Asked Questions

Oftentimes you can buy a fishing license through your state’s fishing department website. You will most likely need to create an account on the webpage and have a printer nearby to finalize your transaction. Make sure to also have a valid credit card on hand, as no other form of payment is accepted by state departments online. Take note that, as proof of your residency, you may be required to enter your driver’s license number.
In a general sense, a good number of states offer the following types of fishing licenses: a regular fishing license and a commercial fishing license. Depending on where you reside, you may also have the option to get a saltwater license to fish, if you are by coastal waters. In addition to these permits, you may be required to buy a fishing stamp, depending on the specific type of fish species you intend to catch.
A regular fishing permit is often valid for the period of a full year. However, you may also have the option to obtain a license to fish that is good for 24 hours or 72 hours, for example. In some instances, a weekly fishing license or a lifetime license may also be available. Lifetime licenses to fish are the most suitable option for those anglers who intend to fish for the duration of their lives. Keep in mind that if you would like to continue fishing after the expiration date of your current licensure, you will be required to get a new permit to fish.
The fees related to a state fishing license may vary, depending on a few factors. But senior residents and military veterans can usually get a fishing license that is free of charge, as long as they can present official documentation that supports their residency or military service. Resident licenses to fish are often more affordable than nonresident licenses. The most costly licenses are for those who would like to get lifetime credentials.
In the event that you have lost your fishing license or it was stolen, the most common way to obtain a duplicate is through your state’s fishing department. You may be required to make an in-person visit to a nearby office or to contact a licensed agent directly. Depending on where you reside, you may also have the option to order a fishing permit replacement online. But, to be sure, it is important that you double check with your state department first, as you may also need to bring in certain documentation, such as your driver’s license or ID card.
This site is privately owned and is neither affiliated with, nor endorsed by, nor operated by a government agency.