This site is privately owned and is neither affiliated with, nor endorsed by, nor operated by a government agency.
Alaska Hunting License

Alaska hunting licenses are required for all hunters who plan on catching game on any part of Alaska’s state-owned land. Without a valid hunting permit, hunters caught hunting will be subject to poaching charges, which come with both fines and penalties. All licenses to hunt are issued by the Alaska Department of Fish and Game to both residents and individuals visiting the state.  Hunting permits are categorized based on each individual hunting license applicant’s demographic and desired license. Available hunting license categories are based on the applicant’s age, residency status, the type of game being caught and the length of time the license is valid prior to expiring. Discounted rates for hunting permits are given to Military members, senior citizens and disabled individuals. Prior to completing the hunting license application process, hunters must meet the state’s hunter education requirements dictated by the Alaska Department of Fish and Game. Hunting education courses cover a wide range of topics including safe firearm handling, wildlife conservation techniques, survival skills and hunting ethics.  Hunters can then use the certificate of completion received after passing the course to buy hunting licenses from the Department of Fish and Game. Hunters can complete the hunting license application online, by mail or in person at a local wildlife department office. For more information on how to get hunting licenses in Alaska, read the sections outlined below:

  • Who can get Alaska hunting licenses
  • Types of hunting licenses in Alaska
  • How to buy Alaska hunting licenses
  • Renewing Alaska hunting licenses
  • Hunting education courses in Alaska


Who can get a hunting license in Alaska?

Hunting licenses are mandatory for all hunters younger than 65 years of age who plan on removing wildlife from state-owned land. Any prospective hunter residing in or visiting Alaska can buy hunting licenses from the Alaska Department of Fish and Game, provided they have completed the hunter education requirements. Hunters must keep their license to hunt on them at all times while hunting to avoid fines, penalties and suspensions. Licenses are available for residents, nonresidents, senior citizens, military members and disabled individuals.

What are the hunting licenses available in Alaska?

Various hunting permits are available to both residents and non residents of the state. Each license to hunt is categorized based on various aspects of the applicant’s demographics including residency status, age, the desired length of the license’s validity and the type of animal(s) the hunter would like to catch. Basic residential hunting licenses include the annual hunting license, the annual fishing and hunting license, the annual trapping license, the hunting license for the blind and the low-income sport fishing, hunting and trapping license. Residents can also add additional hunting stamps to their licenses for catching waterfowl and/or king salmon.

Visitors to Alaska can choose between the various nonresident hunting licenses, including the annual nonresident license, annual hunting and trapping license, small game license and the short-term permits (available in one-day, three-day, seven-day and 14-day options). Additionally, visitors to Alaska can add annual or daily hunting stamps for catching waterfowl and/or king salmon.

Other hunting licenses offered by the Department of Fish and Game include the license for disabled individuals (both resident and non resident), the license for members of the military on active duty in Alaska and the license for resident senior citizens (65 years of age or older). Specialized species-determined hunting licenses are available for catching small game, bison, mountain goat, muskox, grizzly and/or brown bear, caribou, waterfowl, moose, elk, deer, wolf and dall sheep.

How can I buy an Alaska hunting license?

Hunters can buy hunting licenses via a number of methods in Alaska, including online, by mail and in person. To buy hunting licenses online, visit the Alaska Fish and Game Online Store. Applicants must log in to the site and choose the type of license they would like to purchase. Applicants must then complete the hunting license application by submitting certain personal information, such as their name, date of birth and Social Security Number. Additionally, applicants must provide a valid credit card to cover the hunting license fees. Hunters can print a temporary copy of their online hunting license purchase to use while waiting for the original to arrive in the mail.

To buy hunting licenses by mail, print and complete a hunting license application from the Alaska Department of Fish and Game. Once completed, mail the application and any associated hunting license fees to the Department of Fish and Game address listed on the form (check or money order only). To buy hunting permits in person, visit an authorized hunting license vendor anywhere in the state.

How can I renew an Alaska hunting license?

Every AK hunting license has an expiration date that is typically at the end of the license year. Some license types (such as trapping licenses) must be renewed annually before September 30. Short-term nonresident hunting licenses are only valid for one, three, seven or 14 days. To renew hunting licenses, complete the original hunting license application process either online, in person or by mail.

How can I complete the hunter education requirements in Alaska?

Hunter education courses are required for all prospective hunters who plan to buy hunting licenses from the Alaska Department of Fish and Game. In AK, hunters can enroll in the Hunter Information and Training Program, which is the main administrator program of the hunting courses. There is a variety of focuses for each type of hunter education course, including:

  • Standard hunter education courses.
  • Bowhunter education courses.
  • Muzzleloader education courses.
  • Youth programs.
  • Women's programs.

Hunters should make sure to choose the education course that corresponds most with their desired type of hunting.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. All throughout the United States, hunters safety classes must be completed in order for applicants to obtain their desired hunting permits and stamps. Failure to take this specific course will result in the rejection of your hunting license request, thus requiring you to start over.
Depending on your state of residence, you may be able to buy hunting licenses in a variety of ways, including online (through your state department’s portal), by mail, by phone or in person. Choose the option that is most convenient for you. Make sure to also have any type of official documentation and payment for fees on hand.
No. Different states have different limits and regulations on hunting licensure. Certain animals may be considered “prohibited species,” whereas other animals may be legal to hunt, so long as you have the necessary hunting permit/stamp. Keep in mind that if you do hunt for any type of prohibited species, you will be subject to serious consequences.
Yes. States typically offer various short-term hunters license options, such as one-day and one-week passes, to those who do not meet residency requirements. In order to receive issuance of a short-term hunting license, make sure to get in touch with your state/hunting wildlife department to find out the available methods you have to apply.
In the event your hunting credentials are lost, stolen, damaged or destroyed, contact your state hunting/wildlife department to order a hunting license replacement. You may have to make an in-person visit to a local office to complete the process. At the time of your replacement request, you may be asked to present your state driving license or another type of identification.
This site is privately owned and is neither affiliated with, nor endorsed by, nor operated by a government agency.