Hunters planning on taking wildlife from DE wildernesses must buy a Delaware hunting license prior to heading out on any hunting trips. Individuals found hunting without proper hunting license credentials may be charged with poaching and incur state penalties and fines. In order to get a hunting license, prospective hunters must complete the hunting license application process. Hunting licenses are issued to both residents and non residents of Delaware by the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control’s Division of Fish and Wildlife. Available hunting licenses are categorized based on a number of factors such as the applicant’s residency status, age, the type of animal being hunted and the length of the license’s validity. Prior to getting Delaware hunting licenses, applicants must first make sure they meet all the requirements to buy a license to hunt, particularly the hunter education requirement. Hunter education courses are required for all individuals of a certain age group and teach students a wide range of hunting information, including hunting safety and ethics, firearm handling and wildlife conservation methods. Applicants for hunting permits must present proof that they have completed their hunting education requirements during the hunting license application process. Prospective hunters can buy hunting licenses from the DE wildlife division online, by mail or in person. Read the topics outlined below for more information on hunting licenses in Delaware:
- Who is eligible for Delaware hunting licenses
- Types of Delaware hunting licenses
- How to buy hunting licenses in Delaware
- How to renew Delaware hunting licenses
- How to replace Delaware hunting licenses
- Hunter education in Delaware
Hunting Related Topics
Who can get a hunting license in Delaware?
Residential and non-resident hunting licenses in Delaware are available for huntersÂ 13 years of age and older. Children between 13 and 15 years of age must get a junior hunting license to hunt in the state. Junior hunting license holders must be accompanied by a licensed adult 18 years of age or older. Exceptions for Delaware hunting license requirements are made for hunters in the state who fit a specific demographic. For example, residents of Delaware who are 12 years of age or younger are exempt from hunting license requirements. Likewise, residents ages 65 and older are also exempt from licensing requirements. Conversely, non-residents of the state are only exempt from licensing requirements if they are 12 years of age or younger.
What are the available hunting licenses in Delaware?
The Delaware wildlife division offers a diverse set of Delaware hunting license options to both residents and non residents. Hunting license categories are based on factors such as the applicant’s residency status, age and whether or not he or she would like a short-term, annual or lifetime hunting license. Residential hunting licenses in Delaware include annual recreational hunting licenses for adults and juniors, commercial hunting licenses for hunting guides and residential trapping licenses. Available non resident hunting licenses include annual recreational hunting licenses for adults and juniors, commercial hunting licenses for guides, trapping licenses and short-term three-day hunting licenses.
For specialized hunting, the department also offers numerous animal-specific hunting tags such as antlerless and antlered deer tags, buck tags and waterfowl stamps. Fees for hunting licenses vary based on the applicant’s residency status, age and the length of the license’s validity.
How can I buy a Delaware hunting license?
Hunting licenses in Delaware can be purchased from the DE wildlife department in a number of ways. To buy hunting licenses, applicants should first know exactly which hunting license they need for their specific hunting preferences. The most convenient option for buying hunting licenses is online through the Delaware licensing purchase system. Online hunting license applicants must have a printer available to print their license once the purchase is complete. Additional options for buying hunting permits include in person, through an authorized licensing agent, and by mail. Mail applications are available only for military hunting licenses, trapping licenses and disabled veteran hunting licenses.
How can I renew a Delaware hunting license?
Aside from lifetime hunting licenses, Delaware hunting licenses are valid for a set period of time. Once a hunting license has expired, hunters should complete another hunting license application process to get a new valid permit. Upon purchasing a new hunting license, applicants will regain full hunting privileges.
How can I replace a Delaware hunting license?
Hunters dealing with lost or stolen hunting licenses in Delaware have a few options for getting a duplicate hunting license. Online license purchases in Delaware allow hunters two free reprints through the online purchase system. Any reprints past the two-reprint limit will require a new hunting license purchase. As a result, hunters are urged to use a compatible computer and printer when reprinting, as applicants will still be charged with one of their free hunting license reprint attempts even if the print request does not go through.
How can I get a hunter’s education in Delaware?
Getting a Delaware hunting license is required for individuals who would like to hunt in the state. However, prior to buying a hunting license, all applicants born after January 1, 1967 must complete the hunting license education requirements. Hunter education courses are offered through the Delaware wildlife department. Once prospective hunters have completed the course, they can print the hunter education certificate online and use it to buy a hunting license.
The Delaware wildlife department offers two options for taking a hunter education course: a traditional classroom course or an internet course. Traditional classroom courses are offered free of charge, while internet courses require a small fee.
Hunting courses are available to Delaware residents of any age, though students must be at least 10 years of age to receive a hunter education certificate. Subjects taught in hunter education courses include hunting safety and ethics, the proper and safest ways to use a firearm, and wildlife identification and conservation methods.