This site is privately owned and is neither affiliated with, nor endorsed by, nor operated by a government agency.
Kansas Hunting License

Kansas hunting licenses are required for all hunters in the state who plan to catch game in state-sanctioned hunting areas. Hunters found catching game without proper credentials will be charged with poaching and subject to fines and penalties. To avoid this situation, hunters must complete the hunting license application process and buy hunting licenses through the wildlife department. Hunting permits are issued by the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism to residents and non residents alike. Before completing the hunting license application process, applicants should know which hunting license they prefer for their purposes. Licenses to hunt are categorized by factors such as the hunting license’s period of validity, the type of animal being hunted, the applicant’s age and his or her residency status. Prior to buying hunting licenses, hunters must first make sure to meet the hunting education requirements set by the wildlife department. Hunting education courses are required for all hunters in the state born after July 1, 1957. Courses are taught by wildlife experts and consist of instruction in various topics, such as firearm safe handling, survival skills in the wild and hunting ethics. Once the course is completed, students can use their course completion certificate to buy hunting licenses through the KS Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism. The wildlife department offers numerous ways to complete hunting license applications, including online, by mail, in person and over the phone. To learn more about how to get hunting licenses in Kansas, read the sections outlined below:

  • Exemptions for hunting licenses in Kansas
  • Types of hunting licenses in Kansas
  • How to buy hunting licenses in Kansas
  • Replacing Kansas hunting licenses
  • Hunter education in Kansas


Who can get a hunting license in Kansas?

Kansas licenses to hunt are issued to both residents and visitors. Basically, every individual who intends to hunt on Kansas land is required to have a hunting license on him or her at all times. Licenses must be valid, up to date and legible.

Who is exempt from having a hunting license?

According to KS law, there are some individuals who are not required to have a license to hunt, such as:

  • Landowners or tenants who hunt on lands used for agricultural purposes (and their immediate family members).
  • Residents older than 75 or younger than 15 years of age.
  • Nonresidents with KDWPT field trial permits.

Note: Native American Kansas residents who are legally defined as such can apply for a hunting license free of charge.

What are the hunting licenses available in Kansas?

In Kansas, both residents and visitors can buy hunting licenses, but the license types differ between categories. Besides being divided into resident and non-resident hunting licenses, you can also buy a hunting license reflecting the animal or bird species you intend to hunt. In addition, if you are a senior citizen, a disabled individual or a member of the military forces on active duty in KS, you can obtain specialty hunting licenses. Kansas residential hunting licenses and permits include the following types:

  • Resident hunt ($27.50)
  • Resident combination fish and hunt ($47.50)
  • Resident combination fish and hunt - early purchase ($42.50)
  • Senior resident fish and hunt combination ($25)
  • Lifetime senior fish and hunt combination ($42.50)
  • Senior resident hunt ($15)
  • Resident apprentice ($27.50)
  • Five-year resident hunt ($102.50)
  • Five-year resident fish and hunt combination ($182.50)
  • Multi-year resident youth combination fish and hunt ($72.50)
  • Multi-year resident youth hunt ($42.50)
  • Lifetime furharvester ($502.50)
  • Lifetime hunting license ($502.50)
  • Lifetime fishing and hunting combination ($962.50)

Nonresidents have the opportunity to purchase the following licenses:

  • Nonresident Apprentice ($97.50)
  • Nonresident ($97.50)
  • Nonresident combination fish and hunt ($137.50)
  • Nonresident younger than 16 years of age ($42.50)

Another way to classify hunting licenses in KS is on the basis of the type of game and bird you would like to hunt. Thus, you can buy one or more of the following licenses:

  • For migratory birds:
    • Geese
    • Teal
    • Crow
    • Rail
    • Ducks
    • Snipe
    • Dove
    • Sandhill Crane
  • For big game:
    • Elk
    • Antelope
    • Deer
  • For small game:
    • Jack rabbit
    • Cottontail
    • Gray squirrel
  • For furbearers:
    • Raccoon
    • Badger
    • Mink
    • Virginia opossum
    • Coyote
    • Red fox
    • Muskrat
    • Beaver
    • Gray fox
    • Otter
    • Striped skunk
    • Bobcat
    • Swift fox
  • For waterfowl:
    • Turkey
  • For upland birds:
    • Pheasant
    • Bobwhite quail
    • Greater prairie chicken

How can I buy a Kansas hunting license?

You can easily buy KS hunting licenses by using one of the following methods:

  • Online
  • In person
  • By phone
  • By mail

The KS Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism has made purchasing hunting licenses easy by creating an online license sales site. The licenses you buy online will not be sent to you by mail, i.e. you must print them before using, as they will be the only official hunting documents you receive. The system will ask you to provide your KDWPT customer number. Also, make sure to prepare your credit card to pay the hunting license fees, the $1 convenience fee, as well as 2.5 percent of the total purchase. For those who would like to buy hunting licenses in person, there are over 600 authorized license retailers throughout the state. Their contact information and addresses can be found on the official KDWPT website. Call the store in which you intend to buy your license to check its working hours, as some stores are only open seasonally. Additionally, KDWPT regional offices also issue hunting licenses. Another way to obtain a license to hunt in KS is by phone, by calling the toll-free number 1-800-918-2877. Before you order your license, make sure to prepare your credit card to pay the fees and know the exact license type you need. If you would like to buy your hunting licenses by mail, you can find license applications on the official KDWPT website. Send the complete application together with your payment (by money order or check) to the address listed on the application.

How can I renew a Kansas hunting license?

Hunting licenses must be renewed before their expiration date, i.e. the end of the issuance year or before the start of the new season.

How can I replace a Kansas hunting license?

Damaged, lost or stolen hunting licenses must be replaced as soon as possible if you would like to continue to hunt legally. Therefore, if you bought your license in person, you must go to the original store and talk to a representative, or visit any KDWPT office near you.

How can I get hunter’s education in Kansas?

Hunters who would like to purchase any kind of hunting permit or license must pass hunter education courses. Individuals born on or after July 1, 1957 must have a hunter education certificate that will prepare them for hunting and allow them to buy the actual license to hunt in Kansas. Hunter education courses are divided into Internet-assisted and traditional. On the other hand, nonresidents can take hunter education “crash” courses.

Internet-assisted hunter ed courses are intended for hunters who do not have the time to attend classes in person. They entail the same information taught at the traditional course, but with the opportunity to take the classes online. The course is free of charge. On the other hand, traditional hunter ed courses have the classic classroom approach and are taught by volunteer instructors. Both types of courses teach hunters about firearms basics, gun safety, KS wildlife species and management, hunting rules and regulations, hunting ethics, responsibility and fair chase, and more.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes. All throughout the United States, hunters safety classes must be completed in order for applicants to obtain their desired hunting permits and stamps. Failure to take this specific course will result in the rejection of your hunting license request, thus requiring you to start over.
Depending on your state of residence, you may be able to buy hunting licenses in a variety of ways, including online (through your state department’s portal), by mail, by phone or in person. Choose the option that is most convenient for you. Make sure to also have any type of official documentation and payment for fees on hand.
No. Different states have different limits and regulations on hunting licensure. Certain animals may be considered “prohibited species,” whereas other animals may be legal to hunt, so long as you have the necessary hunting permit/stamp. Keep in mind that if you do hunt for any type of prohibited species, you will be subject to serious consequences.
Yes. States typically offer various short-term hunters license options, such as one-day and one-week passes, to those who do not meet residency requirements. In order to receive issuance of a short-term hunting license, make sure to get in touch with your state/hunting wildlife department to find out the available methods you have to apply.
In the event your hunting credentials are lost, stolen, damaged or destroyed, contact your state hunting/wildlife department to order a hunting license replacement. You may have to make an in-person visit to a local office to complete the process. At the time of your replacement request, you may be asked to present your state driving license or another type of identification.
This site is privately owned and is neither affiliated with, nor endorsed by, nor operated by a government agency.